The best free BCG Casey chatbot simulation

Locked sequential questions, live exhibits, case math and a recorded final recommendation, scored the moment you finish.

107five-star practice ratings152 Casey cases completed

New to Casey? See how the real assessment works below: question types, scoring and a two-week plan.

practice cases
10
practice cases
questions per case
6–10
questions per case
on the clock
25–35 min
on the clock
scoring dimensions
5 core
scoring dimensions

Offers landed at

McKinsey & CompanyBCGBain & CompanyAccentureOliver WymanRoland Berger

Trusted by candidates at

Harvard Business SchoolWhartonChicago BoothINSEADColumbia Business SchoolYale SOM

What you'll practice

The same locked, sequential question types as a real online case. No going back once you answer.

Structure selection

Pick the MECE framework that cracks the prompt before the clock eats your lead.

Exhibit & data reads

Pull the one insight that matters from charts and tables under time pressure.

Case math

Size the market and run the numbers the way the online assessment expects.

MECE brainstorm

Generate clean, non-overlapping ideas, graded on structure rather than count.

Recorded recommendation

Deliver a 60-second answer on camera. Speech-to-text scores it; the video is never stored.

Then you get graded

Your picks are checked against the answer key, and your written and spoken answers are read directly, the same way the real assessment separates structure from math from judgment. You see exactly which question cost you points and what the model answer was.

Example debrief

  • Structure & MECE82/100
  • Quant accuracy64/100
  • Exhibit interpretation71/100

…plus Business judgment, Synthesis, and per-question feedback.

Inside the simulator

Structure selection question with four issue trees to choose from
Pick your structure from real issue trees, the way the online case asks it
Casey preview completion screen inviting the candidate to finish the case before seeing the debrief
Finish the case before any answer is graded or explained

What Is the BCG Casey Online Case?

BCG Casey is a chatbot-style online case that candidates commonly report as a roughly 25-35-minute screen with 6-10 mixed questions, although your invitation controls the exact format. That range describes candidate reports, not a universal BCG specification. The official candidate guide linked by BCG Mexico describes a 35-minute case with 8-10 questions, followed by a five-minute final section that includes preparing and recording a one-minute recommendation. Other versions can differ; follow your invitation.

BCG Casey online case flow with prompt, exhibits, answer box, no-back, and submit steps

Casey presents one business scenario, then walks you through a fixed sequence of questions about it. The interface looks like a messaging app, with the prompt, your answer box, and exhibits appearing in turn. There is no human interviewer, no hints between questions, and (in candidate reports) no going back once you submit. Practice scenarios often cover profitability, growth, market entry, pricing or operations.

ComponentPractical prep assumption
Total timeRoughly 25-35 minutes unless your invite says otherwise
Question countAbout 6-10 mixed prompts, not one long open case
InterfaceChat / messaging style, forward-only, answer required to advance
CalculatorUse only equipment permitted by your invitation
PauseDo not assume a pause is available
VideoThe linked BCG guide allows five minutes for the final section, including one minute of recording; your invitation controls
RemindersExpect periodic time reminders, often every few minutes
Wording in your invitationWhat to prepare
Online case, OCE or chatbot business caseCasey: this page and the practice case above
Consulting Career Assessment or CCAThe separate CCA guide and CCA simulator
Live case interviewBCG case interview practice

BCG's Mexico recruiting page distinguishes the online case from the CCA, and other offices can use different steps. Match the wording in your own invitation before you prepare.

What Question Types Does Casey Ask?

Casey mixes answer formats and question intents. The format is how you respond; the intent is what skill it tests. Knowing both lets you recognize each prompt fast and avoid over-writing a short answer or under-structuring a long one.

The reported opener is a dataset-selection question: Casey shows roughly eight possible data sources and asks which are most relevant to the problem. This is a scoping test, the same judgment behind a good issue tree, so pick what genuinely moves the analysis and leave the noise.

Answer formatWhat it looks likeSkill tested
Multi-select multiple choicePick several correct options from up to ~10Relevance, completeness, MECE judgment
Single-select multiple choiceOne best answer, immediate submitCritical thinking, qualifier reading
Short text (numerical)Type a number into a boxCalculation accuracy, units
Long text (free response)Four to six lines of business logicStructured written synthesis
VideoSpoken recommendationCommunication under time pressure

By intent, you will see four recurring categories: structuring (the dataset-selection opener and "what would you investigate" prompts), quantitative (growth, share, break-even, weighted averages, working from exhibits where roughly half the data points may be irrelevant), data interpretation (read a chart or table and extract the one insight that matters), and critical thinking (judge a course of action, watching for qualifiers like "likely" versus "certainly"). For deeper drilling on chart-reading prompts, see data interpretation in case interviews.

How Does Casey Scoring Work?

BCG does not publish a complete Casey scoring formula. Its candidate guide says questions carry different weights and candidates do not receive a final score. It does not disclose the weights, a universal penalty rule, or how written reasoning is graded.

  • Follow the answer format. Enter the requested number and units in numerical fields. When a prompt asks for reasoning, explain your logic and business implication concisely.
  • Follow the stated scoring rules. Do not assume negative marking or partial credit from a prep provider's description.
  • Budget time to finish. The linked guide describes forward-only questions. Check before submitting because that version does not let you revisit an answer.

Road to Offer's five-dimension practice rubric is our own feedback framework, not BCG's scoring formula. The case interview scoring rubric explains related practice skills, not official Casey weights.

What Does the Road to Offer Debrief Show After a Case?

A score tells you how you did. The debrief is built to show what to fix before your next timed case:

  1. Every question side by side. Your answer next to the correct or model answer and the explanation. Written answers also list the rubric elements you missed and any claims the case facts do not support.
  2. Where the points went. Separate bars for structure, case math, exhibit reading, business judgment and synthesis, so a calculation slip does not read as a structuring problem.
  3. The first wrong number, not every wrong number. In the two 10-question hard cases, later questions reuse your saved answers. Say you estimate 45M annual rides instead of the expected 46.9M, then correctly multiply 45M by the $2.225 average fare to get about $100.1M. The debrief marks the rides estimate as the first divergence and credits the revenue step as carried consistently. You fix one mistake instead of chasing three.
  4. Your closing recommendation. The transcript is checked for an answer-first conclusion, quantified reasons, a named risk and a next step.
  5. The next rep. Weak areas link to the matching drill: structure, case math, chart reading, brainstorming or synthesis.

Pass rate. BCG does not publish an official Casey pass rate. Third-party prep sites estimate that roughly 20-30% of candidates advance, but these figures are unofficial, so do not anchor your preparation on a funnel number.

How Do You Solve a Casey Math Question?

BCG Casey math workflow with formula, plug in, calculate, sanity check, and decision steps

Casey math is short-text numerical input under a clock, usually pulling numbers off an exhibit. Use a clean setup and a sanity check to catch mistakes. Enter only the requested answer in a numerical field; add your reasoning and business implication when the prompt asks for them.

Scenario. A consumer electronics company is considering entering the smartwatch market. The Year 1 market is $18B. Estimated Year 1 capture is a 3% revenue share. For later planning, the market is assumed to grow 8% in Year 2; that growth is not part of the Year 1 calculation. Fixed entry cost is $120M. Variable cost per unit is $85. Average selling price is $250.

Question. How many units must the company sell to break even in Year 1?

Solution.

  1. Contribution margin per unit = $250 - $85 = $165 per unit.
  2. Break-even units = fixed cost / contribution margin = $120,000,000 / $165 = 727,273 units (rounded up, since you cannot sell a partial unit).
  3. Sanity check against the share assumption. Year 1 revenue at a 3% share = $18B x 0.03 = $540M. At a $250 selling price, that implies $540,000,000 / $250 = 2,160,000 units of demand, roughly 3x the break-even volume. On these numbers, entry clears break-even comfortably and looks viable.

Do not round the $165 margin or the intermediate revenue early, keep your units straight (dollars versus units), and state the implication when the question asks for it ("this clears break-even with margin to spare"). The same setup is covered in break-even analysis for case interviews, and the underlying speed comes from mental math drills.

Which data should you select, and what can you conclude?

For the Year 1 break-even question, select fixed entry cost, unit selling price and variable cost per unit. For the demand check, also select Year 1 market revenue and the assumed revenue share. Leave the Year 2 growth rate out of both calculations. More data is not automatically more useful.

CalculationResultBusiness meaning
$250 - $85 per unit$165 contribution per unitAmount available to cover entry cost
$120M / $165, rounded up727,273 unitsMinimum whole-unit sales for break-even
$18B × 3% / $2502.16M unitsDemand implied by the share assumption
727,273 / ($18B / $250)About 1.01% of unitsBreak-even share at the assumed uniform price

The 3% share is an assumption, not evidence that customers will buy. The next useful data would test willingness to pay, distribution access and competitors' response. This distinction keeps a correct calculation from becoming an unjustified recommendation.

Practice Casey-style break-even math from the Road to Offer drill engine. Answer a real prompt and get AI-scored feedback. Free accounts include 5 drills per day for the first 3 days after signup.

When Is the Video Recommendation, and How Do You Structure It?

If your version includes the video, it comes after the chatbot questions. The official guide linked above gives five minutes for the whole final section, including preparation and a single one-minute recording. A universal 60-second preparation limit is not established. Follow your own instructions, then rehearse a concise recommendation supported by the two or three reasons that matter most.

TimestampContent
0-10 secState the recommendation plus a one-sentence reason
10-35 secTwo to three data-backed supporting reasons
35-50 secKey risk plus a mitigating action
50-60 secA clear next step with a timeframe

A complete recommendation using the same numbers

This original practice answer uses only the smartwatch example above. Rehearse it to your own timer; speaking speed and the real recording limit vary.

I would proceed to a market-entry pilot, subject to validating demand. At a $250 selling price and $85 variable cost, each unit contributes $165. We need about 727,273 units to cover the $120 million entry cost. The assumed 3% share implies 2.16 million units in Year 1, so there is room above break-even. But that share is not yet proven. The main risk is overestimating demand at this price. I would test willingness to pay and distribution access, then update the sales forecast before committing the full investment.

Apply the same sequence in the practice case above: select evidence, calculate, and give a recommendation with a clear limitation.

What Mistakes Should You Practise Avoiding?

Spending too long on early questions can leave too little time for later ones. Start with a pacing budget based on your question count and timer, then adjust for harder prompts. This is preparation advice, not a measured ranking of candidate errors.

Useful math checks include avoiding rounding intermediate calculations early, confusing percentage points with percentages, and skipping unit checks on exhibits. A single early calculation error often cascades, because later questions can build on the same numbers.

For broader preparation advice, see case interview mistakes to avoid.

How Does Casey Fit the Full BCG Pipeline?

Casey is one early gate. The skills it screens transfer directly to BCG's live rounds, which are candidate-led and exhibit-heavy by design. Pair this page with timed BCG case interview practice and the full BCG case interview guide.

BCG Full Interview Pipeline

  1. 01

    Application. Resume and cover letter submitted online

  2. 02

    Casey Chatbot. Online case screen; exact format varies by invite

  3. 03

    First Round. 2 live interviews (case + fit), ~45 min each

  4. 04

    Final Round. 2-3 interviews with Partners

  5. 05

    Offer Decision. Within 1-2 weeks of final round

Some BCG invitations assign the Consulting Career Assessment (CCA) rather than Casey, and some candidates receive both. Casey is a chatbot case with exhibits and math; BCG describes the CCA as a short, multidimensional assessment. If it is the CCA you need, try the CCA-style simulator and compare the CCA practice tools.

How Should You Prepare in Two Weeks?

Week 1, foundations. Days 1-2: read BCG's official case guidance and any assessment-specific sample supplied with your invitation. Days 3-4: drill exhibit interpretation about two hours daily using financial news charts, writing the one key insight in under 60 seconds each. Days 5-7: math reps on percentages, growth rates, weighted averages, and break-even, both mental and calculator-assisted.

Week 2, simulate. Days 8-10: timed 30-minute sets of 8-10 mixed questions so pacing becomes automatic. Days 11-12: record five-plus video recommendations daily. Days 13-14: two to three full end-to-end mock assessments.

Prep activityVolume targetWhy
Official guidance and invitation samplesRead once, revisit unclear rulesConfirm the format you were assigned
Exhibit interpretation drills50+ questionsSeveral Casey questions involve charts
Timed math drillsDaily, 2 weeksCalculator helps, but speed still matters
Structured short answers20+ writtenPractise explaining reasoning concisely
Video recommendations10+ recordingsBuilds presence, kills filler words
Full timed simulations3+ completeBuilds time management

The underlying skills are firm-agnostic: the consulting aptitude test overview benchmarks Casey against McKinsey Solve, Bain SOVA, and the Big 4 tests, and career switchers can use case interview prep for career changers.

BCG Casey Simulators Compared (2026)

This comparison is published by Road to Offer, which sells one of the products below. We compare the same public criteria for each provider: free scope, price and access, what happens if you do not pass, practice volume and feedback. Provider descriptions are not an independent test of feedback quality or evidence of BCG endorsement.

SimulatorFree before payingPrice and accessIf you do not passPaid Casey practiceFeedback publicly described
Road to Offer2 questions without an account; 1 full timed case after free signup$69 once, lifetime access50% back after an approved claim, if you completed 3 cases plus both hard cases before the test; you keep lifetime access10 original timed casesFive core case-solving dimensions, plus communication when recorded, per-question explanations, and model answers
PrepmatterFirst 2 questions of a sample casePrice not public; 12-month access50% back with an official BCG result; access after a refund not stated15 interactive casesLive dynamic feedback and a case PDF; scoring method not specified
Online Case Secrets (also sold on PrepLounge as the "BCG Online Case Combo")No free full case found$99 once (€99 on PrepLounge), lifetime access; 10 more chatbot cases for another $99100% back within 60 days; its FAQ says you lose access after the refund4 live chatbot cases and 2 PDF cases, plus 4 AI video interviewsAI tips on video interviews; question-level case feedback not described
CaseyPrep1 full case with score, pass band and AI feedback on the first questions$49 once, lifetime access7-day money-back guarantee only; no pass guarantee5 Casey cases, more promisedAI feedback on every open answer and 4-dimension video pitch scoring
CaseBasix1 complete free sample chatbot case$99.99 for 12 months (the price card on its BCG page is labelled "Bain")Up to 50% back, capped at $90, only in the $179.99 tier21 Casey casesOverall score, question-type performance, time per question, and explanations
MConsultingPrep1 complete free 8-question mock$150 / $190 / $250 / $350, lifetime accessUp to 50% back; its page says you keep the license, its refund policy says any refund retracts it7 / 14 / 20 / 30 tests by tierAnswer guides; no per-question AI scoring claim found

Different candidates weight the same simulator differently, so the honest answer is "best for what":

  • Keep the product if the result goes against you: Road to Offer. 50% back after an approved non-advancement claim, with lifetime access kept. The guarantee asks you to complete 3 cases plus both hard cases before the real test. $69 for 10 cases is about $6.90 each.
  • Largest refund: Online Case Secrets. 100% back within 60 days, but access ends with the refund, and the base course has 4 live chatbot cases.
  • Lowest price: CaseyPrep. $49 for 5 cases, with a 7-day refund rather than a pass guarantee.
  • Fifteen interactive cases: Prepmatter. 12-month access and a 50% guarantee; no public price was visible in this review.
  • Most chatbot cases per dollar: CaseBasix. 21 cases for $99.99 over 12 months, about $4.76 each; the refund protection costs extra.
  • Thirty-test top tier: MConsultingPrep. The top tier contains 30 tests for $350.

When you compare providers, check the exact free boundary, the price shown before signup, cost per case, how long access lasts, whether feedback is per question, what a guarantee requires and whether you keep access after a refund, and whether the content is original and clearly independent. Currency and format differences mean cost per case is a value signal, not a perfect like-for-like comparison.

Sources

Official candidate guide and simulator comparison checked September 22, 2026. Other candidate-report sources were checked June 18, 2026. BCG, Casey, and CCA are trademarks of Boston Consulting Group. Road to Offer is not affiliated with or endorsed by BCG.

Train all 10 cases. Keep them for life.

The BCG Casey Simulation unlocks all 10 cases (Profitability, Growth, Pricing, Market entry, M&A, Operations) across CPG, retail, energy, healthcare, tech, and operations.

$69once · 10 timed cases · lifetime access

Included in the 90-Day Sprint and annual plans. Already subscribed monthly? You already get full AI debriefs — the pack just adds these 9 cases.

Pass Casey or get 50% back

If BCG confirms you did not advance after taking Casey, send us the official result within 60 days of purchase. After we verify it, we refund 50% and you keep lifetime access.

  • UrbanBrew Coffee · Profitability · Foodservice
  • GreenBite Snacks · Profitability · CPG
  • FreshCart Grocery · Profitability · Grocery retail
  • AuroraWater Bottling · Profitability · Beverages
  • City Bike Share · Pricing · Urban transport
  • Cloud Capacity Expansion · Growth · Cloud tech
  • PeakFit Omnichannel · Growth · Fitness
  • Solara Home Battery · Market entry · Home energy
  • HarborHealth / MedLink · M&A · Digital health
  • MetroFresh DC Turnaround · Operations · Supply chain
Start the free case

Start free. Unlock the pack from your account after the first case.

Want BCG? Start now.

One free case, timed and scored like the real online assessment. No credit card.

Independent Casey-style simulator, not affiliated with or endorsed by BCG.

Questions

What is the BCG online case (Casey)?
The BCG online case is a timed, chatbot-style assessment BCG sends candidates before or instead of a live interview. You work a full business case solo, from structuring and reading exhibits through case math, brainstorming, and a final recommendation, with a clock running and no interviewer to nudge you.
How long is the BCG Casey chatbot assessment?
Timing varies by office, role, and assessment version. The candidate guide linked by BCG Mexico describes 35 minutes for 8-10 case questions, followed by a five-minute final section that includes preparation and a one-minute recording. Treat your BCG invitation email as the source of truth.
What is the first question in the BCG Casey test?
Many candidates report that Casey opens with a dataset-selection question: you are shown roughly eight data sources and asked to pick the ones most relevant to the problem. It tests scoping, choosing what to investigate and what to ignore, before any calculation starts.
Can you use a calculator on the BCG Casey assessment?
Follow the equipment rules in your BCG invitation. The candidate guide linked by BCG Mexico lists a calculator among the required equipment for that version. This does not establish permission for spreadsheets or other tools in every version.
How is the BCG Casey chatbot scored?
BCG does not publish a full Casey scoring rubric. The candidate guide linked by BCG Mexico says questions have different weights and the final score is not disclosed. It does not explain exact weights, penalties or how written reasoning is graded. Our practice rubric is independent of BCG.
Can you go back to previous questions on the BCG Casey test?
Candidate reports consistently describe Casey as forward-only: you must answer to advance and cannot revisit earlier questions. Assume you cannot revisit answers unless your assessment instructions explicitly say otherwise.
What is the pass rate for the BCG Casey assessment?
BCG does not publish an official Casey pass rate. Third-party prep sites estimate that roughly 20-30% of candidates advance, but these figures are unofficial. Treat Casey seriously without anchoring your prep on any pass-rate estimate.
How should I prepare for the BCG Casey chatbot?
Start with BCG's official case preparation guidance at careers.bcg.com. Then drill exhibit interpretation, timed math, concise written answers of four to six lines, and a 60-second video recommendation under realistic time pressure. The two-week plan on this page lays out the order.
Is this the real BCG Casey?
No. Road to Offer is an independent, Casey-style practice simulator and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to Boston Consulting Group. We rebuilt the format and question types so you can rehearse the experience.
What's free?
You can play the first two questions of the UrbanBrew Coffee margin case right now, without an account. Sign up free to finish the full timed case. No credit card required.
Do I need a webcam?
The final question asks for a 60-second recommendation recorded on camera, as a practice exercise. Your actual BCG invitation controls its video rules. Speech-to-text turns it into the answer that gets scored, and the video itself is never stored. You can type your recommendation instead if you prefer.
How is this simulator scored?
An AI grades every attempt the instant you finish across five core dimensions: Structure & MECE, quant accuracy, exhibit interpretation, business judgment, and synthesis. Your final recommendation is transcribed and contributes to the synthesis score. It reads your open-text and spoken answers directly rather than matching a fixed answer key.
Is this for McKinsey or the PEI too?
No. This simulates the BCG online case specifically. It is not the McKinsey Solve/Imbellus game, and it does not cover the personal-experience (PEI) or behavioral interview. Road to Offer has separate practice for those, but this Casey tool is a business-case simulator.
Can I retake a case?
Yes. Pack and subscriber tiers can retake any case as many times as they like, and each attempt is saved in your history so you can reopen every debrief. The free sample is a single lifetime attempt.
How much does the full set cost?
The BCG Casey Simulation is $69 one-time for all 10 cases, and it's included in the 90-Day Sprint and annual plans. If you already subscribe monthly you get full AI debriefs already; the simulation just adds the other nine cases. The first case stays free.
Does the Casey pack have a pass guarantee?
Yes. Casey Lifetime purchases made on or after August 11, 2026 carry "Pass Casey or get 50% back". For purchases made on or after September 26, 2026: Before you take Casey, complete 3 cases in your pack plus both hard cases (City Bike Share Concession and Cloud Computing Capacity Expansion), 5 completed cases in total. If BCG confirms you did not advance after taking Casey, email your BCG invitation and the official result to [email protected] within 60 days of purchase. After we verify the result and your matching account, we refund 50% of the $69 and you keep lifetime access. Subscriptions, credit bundles, duplicate claims and assessments taken before purchase are not covered. Full terms are in section 10.3 of our Terms.
Can I get a full refund if the pack is not right for me?
Yes, within 7 days of purchase if you have completed fewer than 3 full Casey assessments. After 3 completed assessments that 7-day refund no longer applies. The 50% pass guarantee is a separate policy with its own conditions.

Before or after the simulation

BCG Consulting Career Assessment (CCA) guide
The other BCG online assessment. Check your invitation: some candidates get the CCA instead of Casey, and it rewards different preparation.
BCG case interview guide
What comes after Casey: the live rounds, and how BCG runs them.